The Honest Truth

thToday I read The Honest Truth.  It is a story of a 12 year old boy who sets out on CRAZY an adventure with his dog.  I planned to read the book to myself but my daughter saw me reading it and asked me to read aloud.  By the end of the book my husband, mom, and dad were all gathered in the family room waiting to find out what would happen to the main character Mark.

What I liked about the book is the author’s surprising use of haiku poetry.  This book would be a great introduction to this style of writing and provides students with many poems to analyze and critique.  This book also has strong themes about life and friendship.  Scholastic levels this book as a GR W.

Here is the first haiku in the book:

Alone, leaving home.

A new journey, a new road.

Off to the mountains now.

This book would be a great read aloud for fifth graders or suggestion for students who enjoy hiking, adventure, or dogs.

Leave a Reply

