When You Reach Me

th-4My daughter recently purchased When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead.  She said that several of her friends had read it and told her it was “good.”  It received 4.6 out of 5 stars on Amazon and won the 2010 Newbery Award so I thought it must be good too.

We read the 200 page book together in less than 24 hours.  This book is leveled at F&P W and DRA 60.  It is a mystery book about a 6th grade girl who keeps getting these strange notes hidden just for her.  The notes ask her to write a letter back but doesn’t tell who she should write the letter to or what she should say.  Thankfully by the end of the book all the mysteries are solved and you learn who wrote the notes and why.

My daughter LOVED the book!  (I guess that is what is important…although she also watches a lot of science fiction movies and TV shows with her father which I think helped her to enjoy it)

I was not a fan.

Now, normally I can envision how to use a book in lots of ways in the classroom.  Not with this book.  My only thought is if you have an above grade level reader who enjoys mysteries and perhaps science fiction then suggest this book to them and see what they think when they are finished.  I feel like I would learn A LOT about a reader who could discuss this book with me when they were finished.

Leave a Reply

